+49 (30) 467086-20 service@microtool.de
Products » objectiF RM » Collaboration » Conduct Video Conference

Conduct Video Conference

If the Collaboration Server (Node.js) and the SignalR Server are configured in the Service Manager, you can start or join video conferences.

Start Video Conference

To start a video conference, first create a chat. All employees assigned to this chat receive an invitation, which they can accept or decline.

Video conferences can be started in the Messenger or in the Explorer via the context menu of an element by selecting the command Start Chat. In the Start chat dialog, click the Video conference button.

If reviews, requirements, and activities have assigned employees or employee groups, you can use the Start Chat command to select Start Chat with User in addition to Start Chat with Creator.

  1. Open Messenger and highlight a chat.
  2. Click the video camera on the right side.
    Alternatively, you can select the Video conference command from the chat’s context menu.
Start a video conference

A dialog opens where you specify whether to join the video conference with video and audio.

  1. Select both options and click OK.
Join Video Conference
Note
Users can only participate in one video conference at a time. If a participant receives an invitation to another video conference during one they are already attending, they must end the one they are currently in if they wish to join the new one. If the invitation is accepted without the user ending the one they are currently in, a message will appear in the output informing them that they are already in an ongoing video conference.

If a video conference was started and a participant was not in the project at that time, he can join the video conference if he selects the chat and clicks Video conference via the context menu. You can recognize a running video conference by the camera in the chat.

If the participants are already logged in to the project, a pop-up dialog appears, where they can decide whether or not they want to participate in the video conference. By default, the options for Activate microphone and Activate camera options are pre-selected.

  • Click Join.
Enable the microphone and camera when joining a video conference
Provided everyone has their camera and microphone on, participants should be able to see and hear each other.

Once the video conference begins, you will have the following available controls:

Mute microphone or select another microphone. To mute the microphone, click the button. If you want to use a different microphone, click the arrow in the button. All available microphones are displayed via the dropdown. The microphone is deactivated when the button is crossed out. Click the button again to reactivate it.
Switch off the loudspeakers or select another one. Click the button if you want to disable the speakers. If you want to use other speakers, click the arrow in the button. All available speakers are displayed via the dropdown. The speaker is deactivated when the button is crossed out. Click the button again to reactivate it.
Switch off camera or select another camera. To switch off, click on the button. If you want to use another camera, click the arrow in the button. All available cameras are displayed via the dropdown. The camera is disabled when the button is crossed out. Click the button again to reactivate it.

Share screen

  1. If you want to share your screen with other users, click on the control on the left-hand side, as displayed below:

In the window that opens, specify what you want to share. To share a full view of your screen, select Your entire screen. However, if you only want to share an open program, go to the Application window and select your desired application. If the video conference is being held over the web client, go to the [Browser] tab and select which tab you want to share from the list.

  1. Decide what you want to share with other participants.
  2. Then click Share.
  1. When you want to stop sharing your screen or an application, click once again on the control on the left-hand side:

Leave Video Conference

If you want to leave or end a video conference, click on the rightmost button as displayed below: