Directories and files
If you already have an existing data archive outside of objectiF RPM, you can easily import it into objectiF RPM. Contents and folder structure are taken into account and created. If elements in the editing dialog have the Attachments tab, you can assign the files there.
Include directories and files
It is possible to include files such as PDF´s, images, MS Office documents, etc. in objectiF RPM. You can simply drag and drop complete folders onto a package. The folder is then created as a directory <<DirectoryProduct>>. In such a folder you can add single files by drag & drop. The folder Directory already exists in the Products in Package Files. If you want to store files in a different location, create a directory using the context menu of a package with the command Create other/ Directory.
Alternatively, you can also create files and folders in objectif RPM if you choose the context menu command Create/ Create Directory or Import File in a directory.
Files can be opened by double-clicking or using the context menu commands Edit and View. If you open the file by double-clicking it or by choosing Edit, it is opened in edit mode. The View command opens the file in read-only mode. If you use source code files such as *.json, *.js, or *.cs in the project, use the Open File in Visual Studio Code command. You can also apply this command to a directory that contains source code files.
Context menu commands
After the directories have been created or imported, various editing modes are available:
Get Last Version
With the Get Last Version command, you create a copy of the file/directory in your local cache. You can execute this command at any time, regardless of whether the file or directory was checked out or not.
The Check Out a file or directory gives you the exclusive right to edit it. Other users cannot edit the file or directory until the file has been returned. A checked out file can only be viewed or copied by another user. Note that files and directories can only be checked out one after the other. If you try to import or check out a directory while a check out operation is still running, you will receive an error message.
The changes you make will only be saved locally until you check the file back in. Be sure to return the file/directory after editing to apply the changes and make them available to other users.
Undo Check Out
You can cancel the Check Out command without saving any changes.
Open Working Folder
The selected working directory is opened.